Got a conversion to do? Building project? Got questions? Need Answers? Offering a product or service? Visit our forum...

My Barn Conversion

Login

canadian pharmacy
About | Shop | Privacy | Forum | Gallery | Contact Us

Female needing advice!!

Home Forums Design & Architecture Female needing advice!!

This topic contains 2 voices and has 3 replies.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

earthsoul
    Subscriber

Hi,

I live in Llandysul, in Wales and I am intending on converting my mothers barn to live in. It is shown on planning laws as the original house.

The barn was rebuilt as a barn in 2000, so it has a damp course, a new roof, a second floor (stairs of which are outside), and is sound structurally.

So where do I start?

I want to do the conversion as ecologically friendly as possible, but I am a nurse by profession, I am also a single parent, so I do not have unlimited funds to make it happen.

December 9, 2010 at 9:23 am #5462

mbc
    Key Master

Do you have planning permission for the conversion? Welsh councils are getting quite restrictive on these types of projects (I think there’s a realisation that the loss of viable farms through splitting up into multiple dwellings is becoming an issue). Make sure they’ll allow you to convert before going too far into making your own plans.

You may also have a raft of (costly) issues that you don’t expect around building regulations. You say it was rebuilt in 2000 what from – what material are the walls constructed from? How was the roof renovated – does it have the necessary ventilation for a dwelling? Does the floor contain the insulation and the radon barrier you may need. You’ll need to insulate floor, walls and roof – that’s quite a loss of space, is the barn big enough to accommodate it. I also guess those stairs will need to come inside – again is there room for them?

So first establish:

a) That you can get planning permission &